Board Game In 7 Hours

Today my sister in law asked me to make her a board game. She’s studying for a PhD and her and some colleagues are doing this thing which sounds very literary and intellectual where they go and seclude themselves from society and work (but definitely not drink, I expect there’ll be plenty of that).

I can’t say that I get asked to make games often (or even once before), but I said yes and managed it in 7 hours (with the help of my husband!).

baordgame 2

It was great fun – I went for a mid century aesthetic with muted and complementary colours which bears absolutely no relation whatsoever to the content of the game, but looks rather pretty.

board game 4board game 5

The cards are all positive and negative things that can happen to you on your PhD journey. The blank spaces are for questions that sister in law and colleague will write themselves.

Nifty little logo thing based closely on other retro logos I’ve seen about, for Dr Hemingway (artistic licence – they didn’t ask for any of this but I just can’t help myself).

boardgame 1The game is mounted on foam board and the cards are all mounted on thin white card. So all in all, not a bad job really considering I’ve only been able to use things hiding round the house (foamboard, pritt stick etc).

Anyway, toodlepip!

About nataliesmillie

I'm an illustrator and designer living in Aberdeenshire, Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

