Experiments in Children’s Illustration

Hallo!

I’ve been experimenting with different media for my illustrations. I wanted a softer, more painterly/drawn look rather than the clean, smooth, untextured finish of the gouache and watercolour paintings I’ve been doing (don’t get me wrong, watercolour is still my first love!).

I got some watercolour pencils the other day – I’ve used them before but wasn’t really sure what I was doing with them. These ones are Derwent Academy ones, so student quality rather than artists but I’ve still managed to get some nice results from them.

illustrationfriday travel

boyandbear melting ice cream

I start by painting the skin tones in with gouache, because I want a nice untextured look, and then I just go mad with the pencils. Sometimes washing with water and drawing on top, and sometimes just scribbling away until I get the colours and texture I want.

I’m really pleased with how they turned out and I might pick up a couple of nicer pencils in selected shades to keep me going!

Toodlepip for now!

About nataliesmillie

I'm an illustrator and designer living in Aberdeenshire, Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Experiments in Children’s Illustration

  1. Cindy D. says:

    Lovely work with the pencils! Such fun characters. My favorite is the first with her stickered suitcase, flowing wrap and cute little dog!

  2. Your characters are adorable! And the new pencils seem to agree with you! I agree with Cindy – like the top one best!

    • Thank you so much! I definitely like the top one best as well. I think I may have unconsciously channelled Kim Sears (Andy Murray’s girlfriend) looking at her now! Thanks for the lovely comment!

Leave a Reply

